Music Profile – Matt Phillips

The other day, I was driving home from a looong day at work.  Tired and exhausted, I turned on one of my favorite local stations – WKNC 88.1.  This is the place where I get my fix of musical talent from all different parts of North Carolina.

I remember specifically  being stuck in traffic on Wade Ave in Raleigh, when I heard the slow, melancholy sound coming from a guitar.  The melody traveled through my ears and relaxed my body and mind.  Just when I thought it couldn’t get any more beautiful, a smooth, yet raspy voice traveled through the airwaves.  His haunting tale of lost love made me feel like I was in the song with him.  I saw the conflict between the boy and the girl, and I hurt for him.

“Let’s put on some bluegrass and think about it…”

As soon as I parked, I looked up the lyrics.  Who was this guy? My search led me to a band called Matt Phillips and The Philharmonic from Chapel Hill, NC.  Youtube was my next destination. What I found was a melting pot of blues, folk, rock, and a bunch of different instruments.  I showed my boyfriend and he was impressed as well. We HAD to see if he was playing anywhere around here. His website (ilikemattphillips.com) told me he’d be at a bar in Raleigh the following week. Done.

As I walked towards the place, I imagined what it would be like.  Would there even be a seat available? I kind of hoped not, because I love to be that girl who dances in front of the stage.  When I opened the door, I saw about three people, including the bartender.  Where was everyone? My boyfriend looked at me and asked if I was sure that this was the right place and time.  As I look at the two people sitting at the bar, I noticed something. One of the guys looked very familiar.  OH! It was Matt, just chilling, drinking a beer.

I went up and introduced myself and chatted for a little bit.  He asked me for any requests and I rattled off a few that I enjoyed listening to on his Youtube page.  He then insists on playing for me and my guest, and the rest was history.  It was such a cool experience to get to know Matt and the stories behind his music.

IMG_1223

Check out the track, “Bluegrass” here.

Thanks for all the feels, Matt.

-Meredith

Leave a comment